What will your passions be as Director of Church Society?

 What will your passions be as the new Director of Church Society?

Part 5 of an interview of Lee Gatiss by James Crabtree.

Well, I officially start as full time Director in just a few weeks. But we’ve already started on some significant new ideas.

Our digital strategy, for example, has seen Church Society take up a platform on Facebook and Twitter for the first time, which has strengthened and expanded our connections to a new generation, for whom groups and societies don’t exist unless they are enmeshed in the world of social media. The Together4ward campaign has also begun, in an attempt to change the tone of debate over women bishops, and to lobby for “proper provision.”

Our website is packed full of great stuff, but could perhaps do with a facelift in the coming year, and maybe we can make our resources more accessible to the Kindle-iPad generation.

I don’t know how long I will be privileged to serve as Director, but when I leave that role I want to make sure I leave the Society in a strong position in every way, particularly in terms of the size and profile of our membership and the quality of contributions being made at every level of our work. (It’s a great encouragement to me that the newly elected Council contains people in their 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, and 70s!)

I am passionate about expanding our publishing work and both resourcing and enthusing people through excellent literature, and new things are already in process here. Most of all though, I am looking forward to meeting people on the ground in our Anglican evangelical churches and finding out how we as a Society can better serve them in the years ahead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.